Urban Sketchers

The Seattle chapter of Urban Sketchers is something my friend Tim turned me on to a few years ago. They have a mix of dabblers and professionals, all with incredible talent.

07192009-1a
By Tim, at a Sketch Crawl to Fisherman’s Terminal

So far I’ve been too intimidated to go to any of their meet-ups. That’s about to change this Sunday during their December sketch crawl at Chateau St. Michelle. 

I’m still rusty and still in awe of all of these people, but I’m never going to get better if I don’t try. 

My sketch from a door shift at Studio 7

Part of my interest in this group is a silly hope to meet Frank Ching someday. The man wrote & illustrated nearly every book on architectural drawing required during my bout of design school. His style is relaxed, yet incredibly detailed, and completely recognizable. I didn’t realize he lived here until I started watching the Urban Sketchers Seattle blog.

By Frank Ching, at Pike Place Market


Leave a Reply

